Royapuram: Industrial pollution and traffic congestion remain top concerns

To view map, see:

Royapuram constituency which lies in North Chennai has over 1.86 lakh voters from areas including Basin Bridge, Singara Garden, Royapuram, Narayanappa garden, and Sanjeevarayanpet. Earlier a stronghold of DMK, AIADMK is in power here since 2001. This constituency has a large concentration of  the Anglo Indian community.


Jayakumar D (AIADMK)

Jemeela M.R. (BJP)

Rubalingam K. (BSP)

Perumal T.S. (PMK)

Anandha Raj B. (NTK)

Manohar R. (INC)

Biju Chacko (TMC(M))

Kandhasamy R. (SHS)

P. Parangusam (Labour Party (Secular))

Syed Rafi Basha H. (Social Democratic Party of India)


Dhanasekaran G.

Ganeshprabhu P.

Purushothaman P.P.

Rajaraman N.

Rubalingam K.

Vijayavelmurukan T.

Elankumaran S.

Know your candidates

Incumbent MLA: D. Jayakumar (AIADMK)

Recently the incumbent MLA of Royapuram was seen wooing voters by displaying the highlights of AIADMK’s manifesto– two-wheelers, for which the party has promised a 50 % subsidy, Amma banking card, and mobile phone. He was elected from here  in 1996, 2001, 2006 and 2011.  

Media scan: He had promised to shift cargo like coal and iron ore from Chennai port to  Ennore port to reduce pollution in Royapuram. He had also promised to take steps to ease traffic congestion, and had promised to “find a solution to the traffic problems in one year.” However, pollution and traffic congestion remain  major concerns of the  residents.

According to reports, an FIR has been registered against him last month for allegedly paying voters during his campaign in Tondiarpet.

Jameela M.R. (BJP)

Recently Royapuram residents witnessed the political battle getting messy when Jameela M.R was allegedly denied permission to talk to voters at a congregation at a CSI Church here. According to Jameela, the AIADMK candidate was allowed to address the voters  and distribute pamphlets while she was denied permission to do so.

2011 results

Candidate Party Votes Status
Jayakumar D. AIADMK 65099 Wins
Manohar R.M. INC 43727 Loses
Chandar (Alias) Chandru D. BJP 1683 Loses
Jebaraj Immanuel IND 520 Loses
Ashok J.M. IND 340 Loses

Voting history

Year Winner Party Votes
2011 Jayakumar. D AIADMK 65099
2006 Jayakumar,D. AIADMK 50647
2001 Jayakumar.D ADMK 44465
1996 Era, Mathivanan DMK 44893
1991 D. Jayakumar ADK 46218
1989 R. Mathivanan DMK 37742
1984 P. Punnurangam DMK 40727
1980 Ponnurangam,P DMK 37390
1977 P. Ponnurangam DMK 24217
Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE
About Supriya Unni Nair 23 Articles
Nileena is an alumnus of Asian College of Journalism, Chennai. She has a deep and abiding interest in civic and development issues. Nileena can be reached at