Meet Dr Jayakumar, MP-elect from Thiruvallur

Meet your MP: Thiruvallur

Dr K Jayakumar beat two-time incumbent P Venugopal of ADMK to win in Thiruvallur. Pic: Facebook

Dr K Jayakumar of Congress defeated the incumbent and two-time MP P Venugopal of the ADMK. The other challenger in the fray was Makkal Needhi Maiam’s M Logarangan.

Thiruvallur shares its border with Andhra Pradesh and has a  sizeable Telugu population in the constituency. With a mix of urban and rural localities, Thiruvallur has an average literacy rate of 83 percent.

Thiruvallur Parliamentary constituency is comprised of six assembly constituencies — Madhavaram, Poonamallee, Avadi, Ponneri, Gummidipoondi and Thiruvallur. Thiruvallur was carved out as a separate constituency in 2008 after delimitation.

A total of 20 candidates are contesting from various political parties and as independent candidates fromThiruvallur. According to the election commission of India’s website, the constituency has a total of 1946242 voters: 961864 male, 984032 female and 346 others.

The constituency went to polls on April 18, 2019 in the second phase of the 17th Lok Sabha elections. Thiruvallur registered 70.36% voter turnout.

S.No Candidate Name of Party Number of votes Vote share
1 Dr K Jayakumar INC 767292 54.49
2 Dr P Venugopal ADMK 410337 29.14
3 Logarangan M MNM 73731 5.24

Winner: Dr K Jayakumar

Runner-up: Dr P Venugopal

Margin of victory: 365955 votes


Dr K Jayakumar, 69, of the INC has many degrees to his name — B E, M.Tech, two PG diplomas and a PhD. He has previously served as MLA twice from the Namakkal constituency. He is an educationist and runs the Amirtham Group of Institutions.

More details can be found here in the affidavit filed with the Election Commission.

Phone: 9444020571



Number of criminal cases: None

Financial details of candidate

Movable Assets Rs 5,42,269
Immovable Assets Rs 2,40,41,500
Liabilities Nil

Promises for the constituency

Dr Jayakumar’s poll promises were based on the infrastructure needs of the constituency.

The MP promised that the connectivity issues faced by the constituency can be addressed through the completion of a by-pass road connecting  Tirupati and Poonamallee.

For greater connectivity, there is a need to extend metro rail and MRTS facilities to the constituency. Dr Jayakumar has assured voters of bringing metro rail to MAdhavaram and upgrade the MRTS facility in Poonamallee.

On the subject of education, the MP has stated that he intends to work to bring a government medical college and a government arts college to his constituency.

With increasing risk of floods, the MP has also promised the upgradation of underground drainage facilities across Thiruvallur.

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE
About Aruna Natarajan 183 Articles
Aruna is an Associate Editor at Citizen Matters. She has a BA in Economics and a PG Diploma in Journalism. She has also worked in a think-tank on waste management policy and with a non-profit in sport for development. She writes on civic issues, governance, waste, commute and urban policy. She tweets at @aruna_n29.